Web
Analytics
skip to Main Content
1-800-987-654 admin@totalwptheme.com
How To Reset Macbook Pro [Step-by-Step Guide]

How To Reset Macbook Pro [Step-by-Step Guide]

If you are going to sell your MacBook Pro or give it to someone else, then you will have to reset the device to factory conditions. Or, if the device is running slowly, restoring the device can help you to revert back the device to the state when it was newly bought. 

Furthermore, resetting the device can help you solve several types of errors you are facing on it. But, if you are unaware of how to reset MacBook Pro, then you can follow the section hereunder carefully. 

Easy Steps to Reset MacBook Pro

Here, we are about to discuss the easy steps through which you can reset the MacBook Pro in minutes. So, you can perform the steps discussed below: 

Step 1: Unlink the Apple ID

Unlink the Apple ID

To reset the MacBook Pro, first, you have to unlink the device from the Apple ID. Otherwise, the new user may face trouble while signing in to iCloud. 

You can do it easily by booting up the device. For that, go to the ‘System Preferences’ and then click on the iCloud button. 

Afterward, click on the ‘Sign Out’ button. Now, delete the limited copies of iCloud data from the Mac as they are backed up to the server of Apple. 

Alternatively, you can also unlink the Apple ID from the web browser. To do this, you can follow the steps given below: 

  • First, open a web browser and visit the official website of iCloud. Then, Sign-in using your Apple ID. 
  • Choose the ‘Find my iPhone’ option from the next page. Now, you will see that the device is listed under the ‘All Devices’ section. 
  • Afterward, choose the ‘MacBook Pro’ option and then tap on the ‘Remove from Account’ option. 
  • You have to repeat the same steps for all the users who are signed in to your device using their Apple ID. 

Step 2: Back up the Data

Back up the Data

Although you are resettings the MacBook Pro to its factory default settings, you need to keep the photos, videos, and documents of the device. 

So, you can keep them via Time Machine. To do this, take an external hard drive that has a capacity of at least the same to the MacBook Pro. Connect the hard drive with your MacBook Pro. 

Now, it will ask you if you want to use this drive for the backup process. Confirm it and tap on the Time Machine icon. Select the ‘Back up Now’ option from the list. 

Now, it will start the backup process automatically. It will take a few hours to complete the process. It will delete the data that is already present on the drive. So, confirm that you are using a blank drive. 

Step 3: Erase the Hard Drive

Erase the Hard Drive

Once you complete the backup process, disconnect the drive and then open the Finder. Afterward, tap on the Eject symbol near to the drive name. 

Now, put the drive in a safe location and shut down the device. Once you shut down the device make sure that the power adapter is connected. 

Afterward, restart the MacBook Pro. Before that, you have to press the Command and R key simultaneously by holding the Alt key. 

If all goes well, you will see the message ‘Starting Internet Recovery’ on the screen. Now, you can release the keys and then wait until the Internet Recovery complete loading. 

If you are unable to see a small progress bar on the screen, tap on the wireless network name and type the password. It will allow the device to download the tools it required. 

Now, tap on the ‘Disk Utility’ option and then click on the Continue button. As a result, the hard drive of the system will be displayed. 

Tap on the ‘Highlight this drive’ option and then click on the Erase button. Next, click twice on the Format button and then tap on the Erase button to complete the process. 

Step 4: Reinstall macOS

Reinstall macOS

Once you erase the memory of the hard drive, tap on the ‘Disk Utility’ button from the upper left pane of the screen. Afterward, tap on the Quit button. It will take you to the main page of the Internet Recovery section. 

Now, tap on the Wi-Fi icon from the upper right pane of the screen. Confirm that there is a black tick near the network name. If it’s not, then tap on the network name to secure the connection. 

Tap on the ‘Reinstall OS X’ or ‘Reinstall macOS’ option and click on the Continue button. It will start the reinstallation process. Note that, it is the version that initially came with the device. 

But, if you want the latest version, then sign in to the App Store using your Apple ID and download it. Tap on the Continue button to proceed. Click on the Agree button to agree on the Terms and Conditions. 

Now, you will be prompted to select the destination drive. Click on the one that you have erased in the previous step. Then, tap on the Install button. 

Step 5: Setup Assistant

Setup Assistant

After completing the reinstallation process, the MacBook will open the Setup Assistant. Now, you can shut down the MacBook. 

The next time the device restarts, it will open the Setup Assistant and ask for the login details. 

Note: If you reset the device to fix a bug such as a slow system, then tap on the Next button to accept the default language. Now, the Setup Assistant will give you a chance to connect to the wireless network. Tap on the Wi-Fi name and enter the password. Afterward, you will be able to open the front page of the device. 

So, these are the steps to reset the MacBook Pro. Hopefully, after executing the above steps in their respective order, you will be able to reset the MacBook on your own. 

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
Back To Top
×Close search
Search